The North Face – Advertisement

Attribution: The North Face

Introduction

Here is the original advertisement that I will be referencing. It is a part of The North Face’s advertising campaign “Never Stop Exploring”. This particular strategy has helped consumers feel more of an emotional and subconscious connection to this brand through personal touch. I found this ad here, being referenced on Cdusport’s website.

Original Ad Analysis

Design

Here we can see that in this particular design, this man is positioned near the edge which helps guide the readers all around the page. It almost has a Rule of Thirds feel, but it is slightly outside of that edge. This helps the ad not only have space for the slogan, but it also lets the reader have time to look. The letters also help bring contrast to the image by being lighter than the sunny background. There is also an arch from the tent door that helps frame the image. We also see that the red logo is contrasting with the green, making it stand out in front of the blue outfit the man is wearing.

Color

I personally feel that the color was that was chosen was really well thought out. The overall color pallet is vibrant and contrasts well. The background is very bright with vivid grass and trees. These darker colors really make the runner’s clothes make this stand out. This also helps The North Face logo stand out against the background.

Typography

The typography that was chosen for this ad looks to be a sans serif font that has been bolded and slightly italicized. The text used in this ad seems to be pretty consistent without much change. There is smaller lettering in some places, but It can be a little hard to read. The text spacing for each word is also spaced out which helps with the way it looks, this helps it look more professional.

New Ad Analysis

Design

Here in the advertisement that I created, I attempted to follow the original ad design idea by following the Rule of Thirds. I also tried to keep the text in line with a similar angle. I also wanted to keep the arch from the tent that is seen around the image. The contrast isn’t as bright as the original design, but I felt like this image has a similar vibe with the original.

Color

The color in this ad is within the same color family, but it’s slightly cooler toned than the original. the red of her hat is the same red as the logo, and contrasts with the green, blues, and the orange helps the picture stand out. The white letters also help make it feel cleaner, but I feel like if the background was darker they may even stand out to a greater degree.

Typography

The typography was a little difficult to match with the original as, but the closest I could find for the sans serif was Lato. I made sure it was bold and in italics, but some was regular without bold lettering. I also made the spacing between each letter further apart to appear similar to the original ad. I also kept the white text that was in the original ad, but I also added a slight drop shadow to help it stand out.

Conclusion

The advertisments that are shown here definetly have a similar feeling to them, and I am very happy with the one I created. The way the original ad was made to encourage people to want to go camping when the weather has a chill so they are comfortable in clothing made by The North Face, and it makes me want to go out to adventure. I tried to replicate that feeling with the ad I created. I know that my ad was a bit softer, but overall I’m content with the campaign I was able to recreate. It was a fun project to work with and I hope that anyone that reads this can feel that same adventurous spirit when they are able to look at both ads.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started